Choose life. Choose shoes. Choose not having an arthrodesis.

These are my ankles. Right ankle is very well behaved and is, though I say it myself, actually quite graceful. Left ankle has the grace and appearance of a potato. I spend a lot of time and money catering for the potato-ankle’s needs, which are incredibly variable owing to how far I have walked, how long I’ve stood still, what I’ve been wearing, the temperature and even my frame of mind. In short, having a potato ankle is sh*t.

IMG-20160209-WA0001

Ten years ago I suddenly developed osteoarthritis, which suddenly not only limited what I could do but what I could wear. Shoes are confined to a narrow range of options, but I am finding joy within those options, and not all of it designed for P.E. teachers or octogenarians. I’m sure I am not the only one struggling to find the perfect shoes.

 
Although my issues are specific to me (I overpronate, I only have one ankle that gives me trouble, I don’t look good in sporty clothes and therefore sporty shoes, I have scars that are sensitive to being touched by weird material) as I try on a lot of shoes that are unsuitable for me, they may well be suitable for you; I will share my shoe adventures, and what I have learnt, as much as I can.

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

