Embellished trainers: fun shoes! No, really!

I love trainers, and I am making the effort to wear them more. I am also endeavouring to have more fun with my footwear and try things I wouldn’t normally go for. Ergo I decided to try some fun trainers in a sort of extra efficient two-birds-with-one-stone policy (also known as laziness).

You know how sometimes life imitates art? Well, in 2014, Dior released the ‘Fusion sneaker’. I am not going to debate whether £740 is excessive for a pair of trainers, it’s your money, you do what you want with it, but it has to be said that they are a lot of fun (and fun is definitely not happening a lot with arthritis), and they look great with tailored clothes:

diorfusion
Just crossing the road in my £740 trainers. As you do

I can’t afford to splash £740 on shoes, even if they are crazy and beautiful, but while I was idly surfing the internet one day, I found some rather fun high street versions of these trainers: these in Kurt Geiger, and these in Mango that were channelling the Fusion vibe. The Mango version won me over in the end, being a bit cheaper, and I decided to give them a go, fully expecting that I would find them just too ridiculous to ever wear.

And the verdict?

IMG_0115

I really need to up my tailored clothes game! I love them! They are really cushioned, well proportioned, and they have a really nice roll to the sole, but they don’t seem like a gym-style trainer. I could easily wear these with a smart pair of trousers. My search for the perfect pair trousers also continues; I think they have to be cropped as you need some ankle showing here, and the trainers don’t really work with skirts on me as they finish bluntly, quite high up, which has the effect of making your leg appear shorter, and as the midi-length skirt has a similar effect, it makes my legs look oddly short. I don’t think I am the right side of thirty to try these with a mini skirt, but if you are feeling brave, it could work! Smart cropped trousers are what I would normally wear with a pair of Adidas Stan Smiths, which have been very fashionable recently:

IMG_0113
Stan Smiths with smart trousers. They work… they are work

The difference is that the Stan Smiths make work for my ankle, they look so comfortable, but they are so flat, and offer no support under the arch, that they might as well be a difficult ‘smart’ shoe. While I wouldn’t want to wear the embellished trainers every day (I am far too scruffy to go for tailored clothes every day, and I really don’t think they would work on me with anything else), if my potato-ankle were to be giving me trouble one day, I could see myself happily reaching for these.

IMG_emb
Chilling out in my trainers

The only downside I would say (apart from the price, but Stan Smiths are also about £70 and don’t have sequins on them), is that the body of the trainer is an elasticated mesh, and it kind of fits like a trainer sock under the ankle. It’s not tight on the potato-ankle, but it is close fitting, and if you have a lot of swelling in the foot, it may cut in. Also, the positioning literally underlines the different sizes in my ankle, and it’s very obvious I have one ankle pretty much double the size of the other. I am OK with that, but I can imagine not everyone would like it.

So, if you can’t wear the flatter style of trainers that are currently ubiquitous, or you’re bored of them and want to try something a bit different, these are well worth a try.

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

3 thoughts on “Embellished trainers: fun shoes! No, really!”

Leave a Reply

