Life in the Desert (Boots)

I wasn’t planning on writing a new post so quickly after the last, but these boots are in the sale at Rogue Shoes, and I wanted to bring them to people’s attention before they all sold out.

rogue
Rogue Shoes Ziggy Stardust (also available in black and brown): reduced from £160 to £70

I don’t actually own a pair of desert boots; they are on my list of shoes I want, but as I often have to go casual as a sign of defeat, I tend to spend my money on smart shoes and just bung on a pair of trainers if I want a casual look, and thus these are still not in my wardrobe despite their retro appeal.

I do own a pair of Rogue shoes, however, as I treated myself with some Christmas money. I went for the Iced Gem (they had my name on them, How could I not?!), and I can vouch that they are incredibly soft and comfortable, the soles are extraordinarily squishy and they look amazing with their metallic-speckled fur facings. They are definitely worth the price. I have been waiting for the weather to get nicer to wear them properly, as I can’t bear to expose them to a wet, dirty London street. They are too special.

icedgem
Iced Gem: £169

Now that the desert boots are in the sale I am very tempted to buy a pair; I adore the zig-zag down the back, and I feel like it would be a good David Bowie tribute. I think the black would also be good gig boots — I ask myself: what would David Bowie do? He would want me to buy the boots. I am not sure whether the soles will be as bouncy as the Iced Gem EVA sole, they look quite thin, but they may be worth a try!

The other shop that is famous for desert boots is of course Clarks, which I am trying on here in ‘light blue nubuck’ (other colours available), which actually looked a bit too ‘hospital green’ for me in real life; you can imagine these in a hipster operating theatre:

dersertboots
“the artisanal scalpel please, nurse”… Clarks desert boots: £95. Socks: Jonathan Aston

The soles on these are crepe, which is a form of rubber and shock absorbing. They are wide, and I reckon these shoes could take a brace as the leather is flexible. I guess it’s hard for a shoe to balance up how thick to make a sole versus the flexibility, but I always found the soles for desert boots, and the similar Wallabee, to be too inflexible or not quite cushioning enough.

There is, however, now an alternative to this sole in Clarks, the trigenic flex, which has a shoe with a strong Wallabee feel, without the chunky sole, in its range:

Tri Angel
Tri Angel: £65. Socks: Happy Socks

 

I’m going to do a whole post on trigenic shoes very soon, but if you really like the Wallabee design (Walter White wears them in Breaking Bad if you needed persuading) but you find the soles too restrictive, you should try these out ASAP. They are incredibly flexible and really, REALLY light, it’s like being barefoot… only supported. I was sceptical about these shoes until I tried them, and I am really looking forward to writing a post on them soon.

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

1 thought on “Life in the Desert (Boots)”

Leave a Reply

