Goosey Goosey Gander, how shall I wander?

In the last post I mentioned that I had amazing shoes, which looked amazing yet felt great (i.e. perfect gig shoes… in fact, perfect anything shoes: the holy grail of anyone with foot/ankle issues) but were too expensive to get wrecked by going to a gig. And when my potato-ankle was really sore the day after the gig, these were the shoes I reached for, because they really do make my feet feel and look amazing.

Behold my favourite shoes: Golden Goose Deluxe Brand Slides.

IMG_0107
Glitter + hi-tops = best shoes ever

They are really incredibly supportive; I can walk all day in them and, well, just look at them! They’re glittery but not too in your face, the black suede tones it down a lot. They never fail to attract compliments: random people tell me they love my shoes. So why did I not wear them to the gig? Well, the price!

641-10004-6833809769_BLKOTHER_M
Golden Goose Slide: £285

Now, it’s worth me saying that I did not pay full price for my pair, not anywhere near full price, but they were still not cheap, and there is no way I am wearing them to a gig to get wrecked. With these shoes you kind of get what you pay for; the reason why they feel so good is on the inside (as well as glitter on the outside). These on the insoles of the Golden Goose Slide compared to that of the Converse Chuck Taylor II:

OI000006

If you look at the shape of the footbed on The Golden Goose, the heel height is perfect and the arch is supported. The converse is much flatter, and you can feel the difference in your joints — overpronation is much less likely in the Golden Goose because of the support. In addition, the height of the hi-top of the Golden Goose is just right for not restricting my ankle. In short, they were money well spent on some excellent design. And, yes, I’ve tried putting the Golden Goose insole into my other shoes… it doesn’t work. I will write a post on insoles another time, but generally I have found that any insole that is supportive (such as that a podiatrist might have made for you, not a soft, cushioning insole that can be cut) won’t fit most shoes; unfortunately, firm insoles have to be made for the shoe in question, or at least will only fit in very wide, roomy shoes, such as approach shoes.

Golden Goose Brand also saved my life this week as I stupidly managed to injure my toe by fighting a rabid bear walking into a box (the toe wasn’t broken, but it was a close run thing and involved a lot of swelling and horrible bruising [Edit: it was in fact broken]). The only shoes I could wear all week were trainers, and typically (because the universe hates me) a friend was taking me to a very posh restaurant a few days after the injury, which had been planned for a good few months. I wore these Golden Goose Superstars and felt like one:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Golden Golden Goose!

They are not as comfortable as the Slides (they are closer fitting and the leather is quite thick so make my feet sweaty), but I could wear these with a strapped-up toe injury (the only other shoes that could comfortably be worn were the Mango embellished trainers) with a skirt a bit like this one, and I didn’t feel like I was underdressed.

In short, these trainers cost a fortune. However, if you are restricted to trainers (or love them to the exclusion of all else) and really want to treat yourself, these are an excellent buy, as your money will be buying something you will get wear (and therefore value) from. Not all expensive shoes are worth the money, but I think these are. Still, full price is a big ask for me, so if you don’t mind wearing shoes from previous seasons, the outnet is a good source of cheaper designer gear, though you have to be quick. At the time of writing, these shoes are available in most sizes, reduced from £290 to £159.50.

outnethi
Golden Goose Francy from the Outnet: £159.50

They shift quickly, however, but if they have all sold out, keep an eye on the site as they get new stock (they have an app and instagram if that helps).

 

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

