Lace-up lace shoes

After a long winter, I think we have entered a ‘difficult’ spring. One minute it looks like it is going to be warm, and suddenly it’s freezing.  Or it’s sunny and not warm. Or it’s wet. Or it’s sleeting. It’s driving me crazy, and I haven’t been feeling particularly inspired in the shoe department. Personally, having been to a lot of 5-year-old birthday parties recently, I think the number of Frozen viewings has hit a critical density and set off an eternal winter.

frozen
Thanks kids!

However, the all-knowing BBC weather app is promising it will actually become warm sometime next week so it pays to be prepared (even if the weather app is probably lying).

Something I am really looking forward to wearing in the summer are my lovely lacey shoes. Lace seems to be around a lot at the moment, and I always find it difficult to wear as it tends to be made into flimsy dresses (not for me: see the slip dress fiasco) or Victoriana high necks and ruffles (also no). However, I have noticed shoes being made out of lace this year, and that is definitely something I can get behind.

In an ideal world, in which I had more money, I would purchase these trainers, the practically perfect in every way Valentino Rockrunners.

valentino
Valentino Rockrunner in macrame lace: £460

I saw these earlier in the year and fell in love. But I can’t afford these, not even in a sale; however, I can still be inspired, and I am definitely taken with the lovely lace.

Fortunately, I am very fickle, and my love is easily transferable; so when I saw these Superga macrame lace plimsolls, I fell in love all over again:

GS008YA0U_901_1
Superga 2750 in white macrame: £65

Oooh, love! They are also available in several different colours and, if colourful shoes are your thing, Italian brand Superga are the ones to try. I love their canvas shoes, so simple and in EVERY shade you could want. The shoes themselves are typical plimsolls being quite flat, without much roll or arch support (so they may feel a bit like duck-feet if your ankles are stiff). The soles of the 2750 are thick, but flexible, and are very cushioned and bouncy. If you get on with Converse, you will probably like Superga. They market themselves as ‘The people’s shoes of Italy’, in which case I can conclude that the people of Italy must have quite wide feet as I find Superga to be very wide. This is no bad thing, however, as I always wear an insole with them, which makes my feet happier, so if you have to wear orthotics, these shoes can take them. Bear in mind that they run big, so you may need to size down.

IMG_0136
Le mie belle scarpe! One day it will stop sleeting, and I will wear lace shoes and floaty chiffon skirts

If you like the look of the lace, but think the £65 is a lot of money to pay for shoes you can only wear when it’s the magical combination of warm and not raining, there are cheaper options available.

My favourite shop Asos has these lace trainers for a mere £18! The soles don’t look particularly cushioning, but they do look flexible (and pretty), so they may be worth a try:

asos
Asos DEDE canvas trainers: £18

There is also a range of canvas trainers in Next at the moment, including these cream lace shoes:

next
Next slim lace-up trainers: £28

I tried these on in the shop, and while you can’t really complain about £28 shoes, they do feel a bit cheap, and the soles are thin and uncomfortable.

nextlace
I think the fact you can’t see your feet through the lace ruins the effect

Another (and I think nicer) option from Next are these broderie anglaise pumps. I mostly like them because of the fact they are laceless lace shoes, and who doesn’t love a paradox?

nextwhite
Next Laceless pumps: £18

So, in a few days, in the relatively tropical 18°C, this is the route I will be going down. Summer is, hopefully, just around the corner!

 

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

