Clarks Trigenic Alexia: the tough test

I’m aware that I am beginning to sound like a stuck record, and I will get back to reviewing other shoes soon, but I am so impressed with the Clarks Trigenic shoes that I am wearing them everywhere I need my bones to be reliably not giving me trouble. As I’ve been on holiday, they are the obvious choice, and there is no bigger test than a long weekend away with several friends and enough children under the age of five for one to need to be able to go from zero to ‘who’s fallen off the slide?’ in 0.6 seconds.

So, the weather last weekend in the Peak District was glorious, and I duly took my Clarks Trigenic Alexia and mostly tested them in and around Carsington Water Reservoir, with recovery time in a hot tub.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Carsington Water: idyllic

In addition to my Clarks Alexia, shoes of interest were also worn by my best friend (who doesn’t have arthritis but has two children under the age of 3, so knows something about being on her feet a lot) who recently bought a beautiful pair of Converse with iridescent toes; I was very envious as these were some seriously beautiful shoes:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Clarks Alexia (L) and Converse All Star ox trainers: £50 (R)

And again the Alexia were great for walking around, carrying kids (extra weight and a shift in the centre of gravity is a killer), climbing up walls, sitting on a wall for 30 seconds trying to look glamorous before having to jump down quickly to sort out a scooter-based falling-over incident…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Almost glamorous… the harsh reality of my life

The cushioning of the Alexia was great, and I was more than able to keep up with a gaggle of children, including balancing on rocks near in the lake (they’re good shoes when wet too).

OI000266
Stable shoes in the wet when plucking children out of the shallows after they inevitably fell over

So, are these the perfect do-everything shoes? Well, almost. They are not very nice to drive in because the soles are thick; I ended up taking them off, and I don’t like having to change shoes for driving – life is complicated enough without having to take driving shoes out with me. And the ultimate test: can I walk the dog on rough terrain in them? Yes, technically, they are good but not as good as an approach shoe, despite the weight difference, as I found my feet slipping around on the steep inclines. If you’re going off-road with arthritis, I think sandals just aren’t supportive enough and you need something a bit sturdier.

So thus concludes my review(s) of the Clarks Trigenic shoes. They are tough, look good and are very transferable. And now I will shut up about them…

 

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

