Rollie Nation: my Australian romance

This week I made a very exciting shoe discovery, much to the sorrow of my bank balance.

I received my usual Schuh newsletter,  which was entitled ‘sending you some nudes’, and like the filthy love story Schuh was hoping for, I clicked and set eyes on a beauty:

1372232320_exlg
Rollie Nation white and pink Huarache: £79

Look at the colours! It’s like a sunset, and I love the huarache weaving, it’s really distinctive… I was smitten. I’d not heard of the brand Rollie Nation before, so I did a little clicking and found a beautiful range of Australian shoes (I think Schuh is their only retailer in the UK, although I may be wrong). I wanted to know more about the brand few more clicks and their webpage told me:

It’s all about fun colours and wearing something so light you’ll never want to take it off

Bingo! This is everything I want in a shoe! So I duly wanted to try on a pair as soon as I could, just to try on mind you, as I’ve had a spendy month and couldn’t really justify another pair of shoes right now. I’m having a bit of a busy time at the moment, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to get to a branch of Schuh anytime soon so I ordered a pair online, because they do easy returns.

Well, I don’t need easy returns because as soon as I picked them out of the box, I knew I really wanted them…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hello my beauties

and then I noticed the extra pair of blush coloured laces and I knew I was onto a winner. They are very light and just beautiful. The leather is soft, and detailing divine. I want to wear these shoes all summer and eat matching ice-cream.

OI000292
White t-shirt, denim shorts and these shoes are the perfect summer weekend uniform

The box is also really sweet, the shoes on a see-saw with a dove. The dove is heavier than the shoes! Very cute (and the shoes are really light! Have I mentioned that?)

OI000256
Cute, clever marketing: I approve

I can’t send them back, I love these shoes, so those Valentino trainers I really want will just have to wait until I save a bit more. There are other designs if the Huarache don’t grab you; I really like these spotty blue derbies, there’s something pleasingly retro about polkadots:

1372205350_exlg
Rollie Nation pale blue derby: £69

However, The Schuh range is nothing compared to that in Australia, so if you’re there, or going there, lucky you! These yellow ones are fab:

Derby_Lazer_Yellow_T__56239.1454379794.1280.1280
Derby lazer yellow: $159.95

Or these! So beautiful!

Derby_Silver_Mirror_Rainbow_Side__60060.1447117876.1280.1280__87217.1461824330.1280.1280
Derby silver mirror rainbow: $159.95

And I want every pair of trainers they have! You really should check them out. They do international shipping, but it’s $30 (though free if you spend over $200 (that’s currently around £100/€130)), though I’m a bit wary about customs charges when shipping from overseas, having been stung by shipping things from the US before.

So, of course now I have Huarache Lights by Hot Chip as my earworm, so in case you have too… something for your mind, body and soul. It was meant to be!

 

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

1 thought on “Rollie Nation: my Australian romance”

Leave a Reply

