Clarks Trigenic: cool girl shoes

OK, OK, one more post and I really will shut up about the Clarks Trigenic Alexia.

As I’ve discussed, at length you may have noted, I really love the Clarks Trigenic Alexia. Not only are they the most comfortable shoes in my wardrobe at the moment, I think they look pretty damn awesome too. Now it seems that I am not the only one: I was scrolling through the online showcase of & Other Stories (known often simply as Stories) and low and behold I spot these:

0383307001_1_100011
& Other Stories cross strap sandals: £65

 

Remind you of anything?!

Alexiapic
Clarks Alexia: £60

In case you are unaware, & Other Stories is the posher, cooler sister to H&M; it’s better quality but not ridiculous prices, and they really manage to nail the accessories. Stories is one of those shops that you can go to and be inspired by the people shopping there, it’s very ‘on-trend’ Scandi cool. The shops are beautifully laid out out (the total opposite to H&M), I really enjoy shopping there, and invariably want to buy everything. Not only that, they are an eco-conscious shop, making it very easy to recycle old textiles and beauty containers. I love it!

I’m not saying Stories is copying Clarks (high-street fashion is hardly the place to look for originality), my point is, if Stories to be going with it, this type of shoe must be having a cool moment. I am also not saying that we all have to follow fashion like automatons, but how often do people with arthritis get to choose the cool shoe? It’s uplifting to occasionally think you don’t have to try so hard, or at least to feel you’re not as limited as you thought you were. After my arthritis diagnosis, many of my bad days not only centred around the fact that I was limited by physical pain, but I was also coming to terms with a lifetime of limitation in activities, shoes (and thus clothes), work, travel… it’s difficult to deal with this, especially when you are young.

I’ve not tried on the Stories sandals, but my experience of their shoes is that they’re heavy! Also, the footbed does not look as shaped and supportive as the Clarks, but this isn’t a post about alternative shoes to the Alexia, I wanted to see what sort of clothes Stories were pairing them with; I like to get inspired and try something I wouldn’t normally think of doing, or hopefully can inspire you.

They seem to be going for these cross-strap sandals and a short dress, especially tunic shapes:

dresses2
& other stories dresses (all around the £50 mark)
dresses1
& Other Stories dresses (all around the £50 mark)

So there we are, if you want to go for the Scandi-cool look this summer, a shortish tunic and cross-strap sandals are the way forward. I love the graphic grey t-shirt dress, though I think it wouldn’t suit my body shape, but these shoes also look great with a full skirt, as I have been wearing to work:

20160615_171701
Skirt: £65 from Joy

So, in summary, the Alexia look cool, they feel great. And I will stop boring everyone about them now.

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

2 thoughts on “Clarks Trigenic: cool girl shoes”

Leave a Reply

