March for Europe

So, in my last post I was wondering what to wear for the pro-EU march on Parliament, and I have to admit I was an idiot and did not wear the approach shoes.

I always do this, I know what the sensible shoe option is, but it gets overruled in the interest of what I would rather do; in the end I wore some Golden Goose Deluxe Brand hi-tops, partly because I wanted to show some shoe-love to one of my favourite countries (Italy) but mostly because I have been feeling very down after the referendum, and sparkly shoes make me feel good.

IMG_20160702_114145
Pre-march coffee also makes me feel good. GGDB Francy hi-tops old, but similar here

Normally, GGDB trainers would have been fine for me to walk in, but my arthritis was playing up the day before the march, and I was very stiff on Saturday morning. The walk was fine (it wasn’t far) but I have now strained the ligaments in my foot because they had to work really hard to compensate for my ankle stiffness; in typical fashion, my arthritis is fine now, it’s just my foot ligaments that are insanely painful.

Still, the march was good; as I said, I had been feeling down, and doing this march helped me feel like I was doing something to show the government I was unhappy, angry and frustrated with the shambles we were now in.

IMG_20160702_161806
Parliament square

It was also good to find that so many others felt the same, across all walks of life (and species: there were lots of lovely dogs there).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The front of the march, an estimated 50,000 people showed their support

The hope is that the government might think twice about voting to approve article 50, but whether we need parliamentary approval is now under question: nobody, literally nobody, has a clue what is going on… so reassuring from our political leaders!

So, in order to not get too despondent, I have been trying to get on with normal life, albeit with a busted foot! So this week I have mostly been wearing trainers or the Clarks Trigenic Alexia when it hasn’t been raining. On Monday, I went to the recording of The Infinite Monkey Cage at BBC Broadcasting House.

Infinite_monkey_cage_IMAGE_gallery_2
Brian Cox and Robin Ince, hosts of Infinite Monkey Cage

 

Infinite Monkey Cage is a funny, science-based radio show and is well worth a listen if you enjoy popular science. The programme I attended had Steve Jones as a guest, who is a very funny clever man, and the author of an excellent book, Y: the Descent of Men.

20160705_084406
My well-thumbed copy, from back when I was just starting as a scientist

The genetics must be quite out of date now, but it’s an entertaining and informative book, and I believe the Steve Jones Infinite Monkey Cage programme will be broadcast on the 25th of July on Radio 4; it will be very funny and informative.

I’m resting my foot, so hopefully I will be able to write about some more interesting shoes soon…

 

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

