Ancient Greek Sandals – sale!

I have mentioned Ancient Greek Sandals before, but never really covered them in detail, but I have been spurred on to do this post because there is currently a sale on, and they are really good shoes (if expensive) so you’ll kick yourself if you miss it.

I’ll start by saying that these shoes are not particularly supportive, so I wouldn’t recommend them for any serious walking, but they’re well-made, well-designed shoes that I love to wear if I am going somewhere nice.

I own two pairs, some tan and metallic sandals that go with everything (I don’t think they make this design any more, but the Fontini are similar (€116)).

OI000298
When you accidentally have nail polish game

And the rubber Ikaria (€80), which I wear to the beach if I am planning on having a little dip (but I am not going to walk far/at all as the rubber is not particularly comfortable and they don’t mould to my feet very well, unlike the leather, which is soft and malleable); they’re grippy, which is great for rocky beaches.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Winged-sandal beach yoga!

They’re handmade in Greece, and they are inspired by ancient Greece, so you can find some really unusual designs, this is from their website:

Ancient Greek Sandals are handmade locally by skilled craftsmen using traditional techniques that have existed for centuries. A raw, yet feminine aesthetic distinguishes this new sandal brand. The chemical free, natural tan leather ages beautifully with time and wear.

Christina and Nikolas’s love for Ancient Greece and its history, combined with their individual technical skills naturally led to the creation of ‘Ancient Greek Sandals’. The collection is inspired by ancient Greek Gods and myths, pottery, jewellery and sculpture.

I just love looking through their website, and I am currently in love with these wonders – if you’re going to dress like a goddess, you want to go all out:

1225701
Ikaria Tulum: €185

 

Actual feathered sandals! I want these so much! But I did say there was a sale, so it’s time to pick up a bargain. With arthritis, I find that flat sandals need to have a back to hold them in place, otherwise you have to tense up your foot in order to not kick them off; however, high gladiator sandals, that strap up the leg don’t work well either as they restrict the movement of the foot, so, with those caveats in mind, these are my favourites of the sale:

alethea white water snake top view LOW.jpg
Alethea: €225 to €180
sofia cracked silver top view LOW.jpg
Sofia: €145 to €116
semele piombo top view LOW
Semele: €135 to €108
plekti maria natural black top view LOW
Plekti Maria: €175 to €140
athena marine top view LOW
Athena: €130 to €104

Happy bargains goddesses!

 

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

1 thought on “Ancient Greek Sandals – sale!”

Leave a Reply

