Perfect autumn shoes (in the sale!)

If there’s one texture that could sum up my life in the nineties, it’s velvet. I wore it all the time, particularly in a trouser format, but dresses, jackets, hats, bags, chokers… all of these were found in my wardrobe made of velvet. I was very much smitten with this poster of Jarvis Cocker, sporting velvet trousers, and this was a look I tried to emulate but at which, being a busty girl and not a willowy man, I failed quite spectacularly.

024_AA518-Pulp-Jarvis-Cocker-Posters
Oh Jarvis…

So naturally, now that nineties styles are back in, I am drawn to velvet like a woman in her thirties is drawn to nostalgia. However, I don’t really want to go back to my teenage wardrobe. So then, I am very much drawn to this beautiful pair of velvet shoes. For some reason velvet clothes have been about over the summer, when no one wants to wear velvet, and as such there are some very good pieces in the sale.

bimbo-pdf
Bimba Y Lola Velvet Blucher: £58

These shoes are reduced from £145 to £58! They are a bargain, and really good quality shoes as well, the velvet has silk content, and they are lined with leather. OK, you won’t be able to wear these in the autumn rain, but for a dry day, they would look great and are so autumnal it’s untrue!

Also in the Bimba Y Lola sale are these rather splendid trainers, which look a little bit like the red Marni trainers (at a fraction of the price), reduced from £115 to £69.

trainers.jpg
Bimba Y Lola Sneakers: £69
Marni
Marni Sneakers: £350

Alas the Marni trainers are out of my price range (but maybe they will be in the sale one day), but the Bimba Y Lola ones are pretty cool, and a really attractive shape. The mary jane strap, smartens them up, and I could happily wear these for work. So there we are, sale shoes to buy now and wear later, it’s how it should be!

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

