Clarks Trigenic – AW16

Ever since I bought the Tri Alexia, and fell in love with them, I have eagerly anticipated the arrival of the autumn Trigenic shoes from Clarks. I love autumn shoes, there’s more to them than a few straps and so more room for creativity and awesomeness. In fact, I’ve not anticipated something as much as this as when the Harry Potter books were being written, and on release day I would wait by my door, kiss the postman, and lock myself away with supplies of tea and toast, barely sleeping until I had read it (yes, I’m a loser, I’m OK with that).

However, unlike Harry Potter, on seeing the new Trigenic collection, the main emotion I have felt towards it is ‘underwhelm’ as the shoes are just not all that exciting. Still, I thought, maybe they’ll be better in the flesh, so I went down to my local Clarks shop to once again bemuse the shop assistants by trying everything on.

First up was Tri Abby, which can be described thus (from the website) “sleek profile mixes tactile leathers with beautiful laser etched detailing for added interest, while the navy leather contrasts with the white sole unit to provide that classic nod to athleticism”

26119490_A_p
Tri Abby: £65

Now, these had some really nice detailing in the leather on the toe, it really did feel like snakeskin, but when I tried them on, I didn’t really like them.

abby

abby 2

They look OK from the side, but from the top, the toe is too rounded, which admittedly may be good if you have arthritis in your toes. Maybe I’ve been wearing my Adidas Gazelles too much, but I think my feet look like toddler feet in these shoes. They are light, wonderfully feather-light, but I really didn’t like the look of them.

So next up were the Tri Nia, these come in black, tan, and an aubergine snake-effect, which looked very nice on the shelf:

Nia
Tri Nia: £70

Again, I wasn’t immediately taken with these, although I preferred these to the Tri Abby because they were more elegant.

niapic

I liked the shape of these better from the top; interestingly, there’s no tongue, there’s a sock-like stretchy inner, and this makes it a bit of a faff to put on (though not anything like the Adidas NMD), and I like the little details like the lace tips. However, I didn’t really like these from the side:20160831_145557

They weren’t awful, and they were just as light and comfortable as the other Trigenic flex shoes, they just weren’t so exciting that I would part with £70 for them. I’d rather buy a pair of non-Trigenic brogues, and I think that might be the Nia’s problem: the shoe doesn’t really go with the sole. I much preferred the Tri Angel moccasins from last winter, which are now back in stock if you missed them the first time round:

26115640_A_p
Tri Angel: £65

Still looking pretty cool, and they really are incredibly comfortable.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Wearing them like this now, and with socks and rolled up jeans in the winter

So, hopefully Clarks will bring some more designs out over the winter. I’m actually most taken with the children’s editions of the Trigenic shoes (because why should the grown-ups have all the floaty light shoes?)

Maaave
Tri Mavis Jnr: £32 (infant version also available)
26120686_A_p
Tri Quest Jnr: £40 (infant version also available)

It’s not all disappointment though, while I was in Clarks I spotted some really nice brogues, so I am planning on returning and checking those out ASAP (a sneak preview here if you can’t wait! Gold! Very Olympian)

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

1 thought on “Clarks Trigenic – AW16”

Leave a Reply

