Ankle boots

So summer finally decided to show up in the middle of September, not that I’m complaining, but now I think the segue into true autumn is happening. In terms of shoes, my interest has been piqued by ankle boots; they are having a bit of a moment. The most abundant of which seem to be with a heel of ~5cm (sadly, a little too high for arthritic ankles), but there are plenty of lower boots on offer too. However, if you do have arthritis, you still need to be a little careful with the boots you buy as so many have little or no grip on the bottom. At worst, it’s literally smooth hard plastic – do shoe designers never walk over wet metal grids?!

My arthritis makes my joints unstable, so I’m more likely to slip, hence I’ve been looking for boots with grippy bottoms. Sadly, internet shops rarely show pictures of the sole, so you really have to trawl the shops. These are the ones that I have investigated and deemed worthy:

Buckles and studs

I love a bit of rock chic, and these boots are perfection:

givenchy
Givenchy Prue: £895

Yes, we have fallen into ‘perfect world’ territory. These Givenchy boots are not going to be on my feet. Ever. But I am showing you those so I can show you these:

topshop-amy
Topshop Amy: £82

Oh Topshop, with your near-identical boots you are really spoiling us! I have to say, the grip on these boots is not great; it’s the hard plastic, but it is ridged so not a total ice rink. Unfortunately, the website doesn’t give any indication of what the sole is made of so I can avoid it (it does say 100% leather… no, Topshop, that’s not true). I tried to order these online, but I had my order mysteriously cancelled by Topshop a few days later (which I think means they’re out of stock, thanks for the info, Topshop, grrrrrrr), but you might get lucky in store.

Alternatively, although these are a little lower on the ankle, these from Office have a grippy softer sole:

9064716337182
Office lock down: £98

While we are on the subject of designer boots I want but can’t afford, I also love these Chloe boots:

641-10004-0046500109_black_m
Chloe Susannah: £825

 

They’re never happening either, but look at these from Office – woo hoo:

office
Office Lucky Charm: £82

They also come in light grey, red and black suede. The sole is the important thing, it’s ridged and made of the soft matte stuff, and they are comfortable boots, the heel looks a little high, but I’ve tried these on and it’s fine.

Metallic

Metallic is still a big trend for autumn and winter, which I love so I am totally embracing it; I’ve already bought this skirt from Zara:

2969278836_1_1_1
Zara skirt: £49.99

If, however, you don’t feel comfortable dressing in bacofoil, metallic boots and shoes always look amazing, and Dune have some really good options, and the soles, although not ridged, are grippy.

dun-pearcey
Dune Pearcey: £95
pander
Dune Pander: £90
dune-quin
Dune Quin: £99

For leather boots, these Next ones are a really good price. Still not cheap boots (leather is expensive), but cheaper than the ~£90 mark of most leather boots:

413507
Next point chelsea boots: £60

Unlike other ankle boots from Next, these ones do have a grippy sole (which goes to show sometimes you really have to trawl the shops). However, they’re narrow across the toes, so if you have pain here, a wider boot might be more comfortable.

Leather soles are a bit of a tricky one; they’re not great in the wet, as they can be a little slippery (you’re not supposed to wear leather-soled shoes in the rain anyway, but in Britain this isn’t really feasible), but I find them fine when they’ve been worn in and roughed up a bit. If you’re not sure, then these boots may change your mind: sparkle + cowboy = right up my street thank you very much.

372751_xlalt1
Russell and Bromley Cirque: £325

These are expensive boots, that’s true, but I think these are definitely ones to keep an eye on in the sale. The Russell and Bromley demographic is quite classic so I reckon these will get overlooked so they may have excess stock. Of course I could be totally wrong about this, but I think it’s worth taking a chance on these being cheaper later in the year.

Leopard

I’m a big fan of leopard as we know, but finding the perfect leopard boots has been tough – they’re mostly way too high. These from Next look great and they’re a really good price, but the sole is completely smooth and hard. They’re just too slippery for me (why? Next? WHY???) But then I found these at Boden:

16waut_az235_gry
Boden mollie: £129

They’re not the cheapest boots, but they are well-made, the leather is really good quality, and they look fab. They are narrow though, as the reviews say. I have narrow feet, and they were only just OK. If you have wide feet or swollen joints around the metatarsals you will struggle. For other narrow-footed fillies, however, they also come in a lovely blue/khaki colour, a bit more subtle but still great:

16waut_az235_khk
Boden mollie: £129

 

Honourable mentions

I really love these boots from Finery, they make really lovely clothes and shoes (their skirts are fab). These are a good price for the quality and design, but unfortunately, the bottom of these is the hard shiny stuff, but I want to post them anyway as you may not have the same issues as me:

details_elmworth-shoes-blue-finery-london_285_color
Finery Elmworth blue: £145
074_ELMWORTH-SHOES-RED-FINERY-LONDON20160628_Finery(HERO)-168-1.jpg
Finery Elmworth red: £145

 

And to finish, a really nice pair of boots, that are a total bargain. They’re not leather of course, but the textile is nice and breathable (it’s not plastic), and they look more expensive than their price tag. The gold around the bottom looks really good and makes the boots really stand out. Most importantly, they’re grippy! Hurrah!

dp19945910_large_f_3
Dorothy Perkins merci: £29
Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

