Velvet overground

OK, it’s happened, I’ve become obsessed with velvet again.

It had to happen really — it’s such a lovely fabric and perfect for winter, so as much as I resisted going back to my teenage years, you can’t fight the inevitable. Seeing as it’s not the 90s, I’ve avoided crushed velvet. It’s not that it doesn’t look nice, but it does look cheaper, and there’s not as much joy as you sweep your hands down the nap.

These were all on my ‘want list’ (which, by the way, is pretty much infinite at the moment):

velvet1
1) Boden trousers: £79.50. 2) Zara jacket: £89.99. 3) Mango jacket: £89.99. 4) Mango trousers: £49.99

but I managed to rein myself in (particularly on the jackets, which I love but I can’t really do military; having brothers in the actual military, one looks like a prat if you turn up in faux-epaulettes) and limited myself to this skirt:

ms
M&S skirt: £29.50

I know I have a million pleated skirts now, but this one is really lovely velvet and great quality for the price — well done M&S!

But, if I’m honest, this skirt has just fed the velvet beast. I want more! The velvet beast wants velvet shoes for its velvety feet. Luckily, I’ve not been that impressed with the array of velvety shoes offerings as they look a little cheap. But I saw these today and I really like them:

6942531-1-greyvelvet
Hudson velvet boots: £125

These don’t look cheap because they’re not cheap; I think that’s a bit too steep for textile boots. They are super cute though: I really like the shape and the colour. I haven’t seen them in the flesh, but you can see the sole on the website, and it looks matte and slip-resistant.

At the other end of the spectrum, the ‘looks so unclassy it goes round into classy again’ spectrum, are these shoes from office. I think it’s the colours…

mangovelvet
Office: peach point pump: £26

Every time I think I’ve picked my favourite colour, I change my mind. I don’t know whether this is a sub-conscious rebellion from the muted colours of my winter wardrobe but these are so fun! I don’t think I’ll be rushing for the train in these any time soon, but for any parties that are coming up, I think these, with thick black tights or cropped jeans, would fit the bill perfectly.

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

