I don’t think you’re ready for this jelly

I’ve just come back from a lovely holiday in Sicily, where I had a much-needed sunshiney beachy break. I didn’t expect it to be hot-hot, so I was surprised by the temperature getting up to 29°C in October — so lovely when the UK autumn gloom has set in; it feels like I am cheating the weather system (don’t worry, it got its own back when I tried to fly home and was grounded for two hours because of fog at Gatwick).

Sicily is lovely and vibrant, and I ate a LOT of scrummy food. Most importantly, I had a lovely chilled-out time on the beach: the sea was warm (by British standards),  really clear and you could easily see the little fish following you round the sandy beds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Paradise!

I don’t have that much to say about shoes that I wore, as I mainly went barefoot or wore my Clarks Tri Alexia, which are still looking good despite taking a beating this year as I wore them all summer. However, it was my daughter’s shoes I wanted to talk about. She had pretty much outgrown all of her summer shoes, and I didn’t want to fork out a lot of money for shoes that she would only wear at the beach so I bought her some jelly shoes, just like I had when I was a kid! Very pleasingly retro!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I forgot to pack nail polish…

At £12 a pair you can’t really go wrong for beach wear, although my daughter insisted on wearing them all the time as she found them really comfortable — she’d have worn them to bed if I’d have let her. They also do adult sizes! Oh yes, grown ups don’t have to miss out on the fun! I’m not sure how comfortable I would be in these all day, or wandering around towns, but for the beach and pool, they’re fab as they’re really grippy, and definitely worth considering if you struggle on the wet.

sun-jellies-jelly-sandals
Sun Jellies sandals (various colours!): £12

They also do the charming retro bags, I used to have one like this when I was five, surely we all had this bag when we were five:

bag.jpg
Sun Jellies Alice bag: £10

I would definitely consider these shoes for myself if I were going somewhere with a rocky shore (I love to snorkel but find the slippery rocks a killer). They’re much better than flip-flops too. Holiday shoes are sorted from now on…

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

