It’s beginning to look a lot like Skint-mas

Christmas is coming, and my bank balance isn’t getting fat. This time of year is always expensive, and not just because of Christmas — I have a lot of family birthdays around now, but also people need to invest in winter clothes at this time of year. Maybe a new coat, maybe some more jumpers or warm boots. Winter things are thicker, larger, woollier, and as such I always find myself trying to be a little more frugal.

My old pair of brogues are wearing out, and I although I want to save up for a really lovely pair of Grenson shoes, I feel they may fall apart before that happens.

martha-4002-02_web.jpg
LUST! Grenson Martha: £205

So, I wanted to set myself a pre-Christmas shoe challenge: could I find a decent pair of leather shoes that I could wear to work, non-sale (so other people could easily find their size), for under £50? Well, I think I have.

OK, so these guys are no Marthas, but the ASOS Mai leather brogues are an attractive shoe and a total steal at £35:

7072459-1-navy.jpeg
ASOS Mai: £35

They also come in black, grey and my other favourite, tan:

6103343-1-tan
ASOS Mai: £35

Although these are more expensive, I am also very taken with these loafers, the burgundy is a lovely colour:

7085691-1-burgundy.jpeg
ASOS Manning: £50

I also really like these loafers from M&S, they are almost verging on boring school-shoes, but the orange rim around the comfortable-looking sole saves them:

sd_01_t02_8292_y1_x_ec_1
M&S loafers: £45

I usually get my brogues from Clarks, but these year I have not been that impressed with the selection. I talked about these gold ones a few months ago, and I was expecting more brogues to come out so I could do a feature, but that just hasn’t happened… the gold ones get an honourable mention, as they definitely could be partied in, but the rest of them are just a bit boring. At £60, they would certainly make me think twice at this time of year:

26118506_a_p
Clarks Hamble Oak gold: £60

So, I final shout out to some trainers, because I can’t help myself. I try to look at smart shoes, but get drawn by the dark, casual, not-giving-a-**** side. These are leopard, leather and really nice, and probably my favourite out of all of the shoes here:

SD_01_T02_4095B_N4_X_EC_0.jpeg
M&S leather lace-up trainers: £49.50

Hopefully, that can tide everyone over until pay-day!

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

