Step into Christmas

If there’s one time of year that makes me strive for hitting above my usual scruff-bag status, it’s a Christmas party. In fact, shove the word ‘Christmas’ in front of a generic state of being, and the dress code suddenly gets elevated. My saviour for Christmas parties and lunches has been this jumper from Next:

933-687s2
Next sequin sweater: £46

It’s great as it’s massively over-the-top sequiny, but it can be worn with jeans and an awesome pair of shoes and suddenly jeans + sweater = party wear. I can go from school-run to party-time in seconds, and (most importantly) I feel really comfortable as I’m basically wearing my favourite clothes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Magical things happen when you stand next to Christmas trees

My dream awesome pair of shoes of choice would be the Gucci mid-heel loafers. They’re so lovely, and they go with everything.

408208_dkt00_7100_002_086_0000_light-metallic-mid-heel-pump
Gucci mid-heel loafer: £545

They also come in a fantastic yellow colour. I really want them! However, my finances can’t stretch to that at the moment (still living in hope…), but there are alternatives on the high street (though sadly not leather), such as these from Kurt Geiger:

7701264609_1
Kurt Geiger Agatha: £79.20

And these from Office:

9068854050846
Office fringe loafers: £60

For my last Christmas night out, a celebration of Scottish food and drink at the Dram and Smoke (great if you like massive amounts of delicious food), I wore the sequin jumper with cropped jeans and leopard boots. I had literally 10 minutes to get ready after work, so it was the perfect choice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ready for scran

However, sometimes, you do need to dress up properly. When I got invited out for a dressy Christmas meal, as a plus one, with some sensible types I had to behave in front of, it kind of threw me: jeans were not appropriate. So, how does a girl with arthritis and a natural affinity with scruffiness scrub up?

A dress is the easier option to looking put-together as you only have to put one thing on. I love this dress, also from Next (they are really hitting the mark at the moment). It’s so pretty (and although I would normally steer clear of ruffles, these are helpfully kept away from the bosom area), and this would work well with flat ankle boots.

446-741s7
Next embroidered floral dress: £95

I also love, love, LOVE these velvet trousers from M&S:

SD_01_T59_8058_F3_X_EC_90.jpeg
M&S velvet wide-leg trousers: £59

I think I’ve been inspired by Porpentina Goldstein from Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, but I love the wide-legged trousers and velvet combination.

qmx_fb_porpentina-goldstein-character-print-18x24_988x988_b6dee610-7924-4d00-8ce6-4d28b20efcfb_grande
Make your own joke about Eddie Redmayne’s fantastic beast

These are so opulent, that, with a shirt or t-shirt, you could easily wear these with a pair of trainers and still look like you have made an effort.

Finally, still with velvet, I also really like this velvet sweatshirt from Other Stories:

0334946001_1_400000
Other Stories velvet sweatshirt: £55

I would normally steer clear of baggy tops because they tend to hang from the boobs and make me look round, but a baggy sweater works with a structured skirt or pair of trousers, and the velvet fabric makes this seem dressy without going over the top. This would go with my metallic skirt  bought from Zara in the autumn (which is lovely, if a little prone to static):

2969278836_1_1_1
Zara skirt: £49.99

As in the picture, flat ankle boots work with this as well… of course the Gucci loafers would make these outfits go stratospheric in my opinion, but I’m trying not to pine for them.

The velvet sweater also has the added bonus of being able to wear my Ramones t-shirt underneath, because I can’t pretend to be ladylike all night; you have to stay true to yourself.

7a58b6b1c7ff509eea28c752b029fed4
You’re right Naboo

Happy Christmas dressing!

 

 

 

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

