Spring forward

I’m not very good at living in the moment. During the day, I’m often distracted by upcoming deadlines and things I need to prepare for (I also hate waiting for things); at night, my brain likes to entertain itself by replaying embarrassing things I’ve said/done in the past. However, I think it’s important to appreciate the time as it’s happening or you can miss out on so much, so at the moment I am trying to be mindful of how beautiful and crisp the winter sunsets are, how nice it feels to wrap up in soft layers, drink hot tea and knit beautiful things.

Even so, I can’t fight my urge to look forward to spring, and it was in this frame of mind that I stumbled on these shoes:

ash-virtu-buckle-trainers-embroidered-blue-denim-p2368-67950_medium
Ash embroidered denim buckle trainers: £149

 

I don’t think these would be especially comfortable for arthritis, which is on my mind at the moment as I’m having a bit of a painful flare up… I think the snow has been hard work, but they are so pretty, I can’t help think fondly to warmer (and more importantly drier) days when it would be possible to wear them. I love the denim and studded buckle details too, it stops it getting too twee:

ash-virtu-buckle-trainers-embroidered-blue-denim-p2368-67962_medium

I have a few white skirts and dresses for the summer, and these would be great with those if we were to have an early warm spell (fingers crossed, right?)

And with this spring feeling, I have also treated myself to this skirt from H&M:

hmprod
H&M pleated skirt: £24.99

I usually stay away from pink as I often wear red lipstick (MAC Ruby Woo is the best), but I love this bright bubblegum pink and how it works with the more monochrome elements of my wardrobe, and it wasn’t very expensive. Accordingly,  it’s not very well made: it’s unlined (and the fabric is pretty thin, I’ll have to cut the care label out as you can see it through the fabric), but for a little pop of colour, it’s not too bad. I just need to invest in some more nude-coloured knickers, and I’m planning on wearing it with long layers like in the photo, so there shouldn’t be any embarrassing skirt-related incidents for my brain to replay to me for years to come. Here’s looking forward to spring.

 

 

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

