Pink and red

Most people hate January, which I understand, but for me February is the worst. The only good thing about it is that it’s short. January is at least filled with good intentions, but February is the back end of winter that just seems to keep its frosted fingers tightly gripped. I’m bored with winter. I’m bored with boots. I’m bored with sludgey colours. All I seem to wear is black, grey and navy on repeat (apart from the days I break ranks and throw on my pink skirt, which I regret when I am standing bare-legged in a sleety playground).

So, I’ve really inspired by these colours from Zara: bright fuchsias and reds together; it’s clashing and bright and wonderful

2048608630_1_1_1
Zara fuchsia trousers: £39.99

Unfortunately, Zara trousers don’t fit my body shape. I find them too big on the waist and too tight on the hip. These red ones were also on my to try-on-and-be-disappointed list:

7290074600_2_1_1
Zara chino: £29.99

Similarly, these from Next are the wrong shape for me (I don’t fit cigarette trousers very well as my thighs are not cigarettey), but they were really nice fabric and perfect length (and they come in long and petite):

937224
Next cigarette trousers: £30

I have taken to checking the few places I know I can get good trouser action (Banana Republic mostly, which is never exactly trail blazing) every few hours to see whether they have uploaded some red or pink beauties… the answer is no. I don’t understand how hard it can be to find red trousers, Monsieur Henri de Pantalon Rouge has a whole blog dedicated to posh boys wearing them.

So, my lamenting naturally takes me to admiring shoes (it doesn’t matter what shape your thighs are for shoes), and Topshop has some beautiful colourful loafers. Nicely flat and with nice matte (and therefore grippy) soles for anyone with stability issues (physical stability that is, but the colour also helps my February-induced emotional stability):

ts32k27kred_zoom_f_1
Topshop karter loafer: £65

And although not the bright fuchsia that is making me so happy, I do like the pretty pale pink too:

ts32k32kbls_zoom_f_1
Topshop karter loafer: £62

The Topshop shoes that are really making me happy, however, are these:

ts32g04lpnk_zoom_f_1
Topshop gina V-cut flare block heel: £56

Yes, I know, I can’t wear these, they are too high, but they are the most anti-February shoe ever! Fuchsia leopard shoes with a nod to the 80s just begging to be taken to a party with a pair of jeans. I just wish they were a bit lower. So I am just going to stare at these and smile every time my search for the perfect pair of red trousers and fuchsia jumper combo leads me to another dead-end: shoe therapy indeed.

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

