Anything but boring sneakers

As I said at the beginning of this month, I’m getting a bit fed up of my winter clothes. That said, I am not fully ready to embrace spring either. There are lots of colourful clothes in the shops, and spring florals, but wearing a bright jumper requires thought as not everything will go, whereas the pull to the safe navies and greys is strong when you just can’t be bothered as they go with anything effortlessly (I find the end of winter also coincides with a sharp spike in the ‘can’t be bothered’ feeling. I blame this depressing latitude.)

So, I find wearing some interesting shoes with your winter outfit can make all the difference. It’s just about getting warm enough to wear trainers and sneakers rather than boots. And I often wear wool insoles in my trainers anyway so sometimes I can get away with no socks.

I’ve talked about the much coveted, much not happening, Gucci loafers before, but I also love their sneakers; they’re iconic anyway, but I love the embroidery details:

431917_a38g0_9064_001_100_0000_light-ace-embroidered-low-top-sneaker
Gucci ace embroidered sneaker: £485
431887_a38g0_9064_001_100_0000_light-ace-studded-leather-low-top-sneaker
Gucci ace studded sneaker: £430
431920_a38g0_9064_001_097_0000_light-ace-embroidered-low-top-sneaker
Gucci ace embroidered sneaker: £405

Flowers and pearls and pineapples, oh my! I reckon any of these could make me feel fully out of my winter rut. I can’t afford these, however, but fortunately the high street has some great versions, guaranteed to lift the mood without breaking the bank.

First up: floral trainers. I’m not a massive fan of floral patterns as I find it can look either a bit ditsy and cute (not a look I go for) or a bit like I am wearing curtains like the Von Trapps. It’s also a bit of a cliché…

23edcdaf1a21d715645a587a54d07c6a

However, I can totally go for floral shoes! The Marks and Spencer sneakers have sold out, but are worth keeping an eye on in case they come back into stock:

sd_01_t02_9725_z4_x_ec_1
M&S floral trainer: £29.50
9204162330654
Monsoon sandra sneakers: £49
ash-nak-embroidered-trainers-white-leather-p2359-67980_medium
Ash dazed trainers: £165
7314399821141_010_b
Anthropologie bahia trainers: £85

But my stand-out favourites are these lovely glittery shoes from & Other Stories; they are really fun (I love a glittery trainer), and I really like the colourful applique details:

0491005001_1_100011
Other Stories glitter sneakers: £69

I also love these from Kurt Geiger (who always pay homage to some of the designer looks) these pearl embellished ones definitely have a nod to the Gucci trainer:

0153866979_1
Kurt Geiger lippy sneakers: £130

The backs are also fantastic:

0153866979_2

They are however not leather, which I think is outrageous for something of this price, but you may be OK with that. Kurt Geiger is definitely worth keeping an eye on in any case as although these aren’t out yet, I spotted these loitering on the website:

img_block_3-1Another nod to the Gucci sneakers here, and probably more to come so I will keep you updated…

[Edit: they are here, £120 and they are leather.]

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

