Spring Gazelles for the boys and girls

I’ve not been feeling very inspired in the shoe department as of late, I am not sure whether this is a mixture of the winter blues and world-wide political uncertainty leading to a desire for rose-tinted nostalgia or whether there really are no exciting shoe designs out there. Certainly there a lot of backless shoes, which are awful for people with foot problems — any shoes that require my foot to work to keep them on can get lost. There are also a lot of kitten heels, which I don’t really like… they just seem so apologetic and neither-here-nor-there.

So, I’m just going to stick with my nostalgia until there are somethings worth splashing my money on in the shops. I’ve talked about Adidas Gazelles before, I know they’re not for everyone being rather narrow, but I feel comfortable and supported in them. If you have big feet, or if you’re a man, these are my favourite Gazelles for spring:

sz_246685_a
Adidas Gazelle: £50 (reduced from £80)

Wearing boys’ shoes was something I did a lot as a teenager as I often preferred the colours, so this is full-on nostalgia. If you are a girl, remember that you need to size one down for the same size (for no sensible reason that I can ascertain, a man’s size UK6 is the same as a woman’s UK7). UK size 6 can be found full price here.

While this might have more resonance with North American trainer-wearers, there is a collaboration between the Louisiana-based Sneaker Politics and Adidias Gazelle, producing the ‘Mardi Gras’. They’re a really pretty trainer, with subtle splashes of the Mardi Gras colours purple, green and gold.

sneaker-politics-adidas-consortium-gazelle-pk-global-release-info-11
Adidas Gazelle PK x Sneaker Politics: £119

They’re a limited edition, and they came out in February in the US stores. The good news is that they will also be available world-wide tomorrow: March 4th 2017. The first drop sold out super quick, so if you like these, set your alarms.

If you don’t have big feet, the ladies department is more limited (although I am sure there will be different colours out soon), but I do like this pink pair, with the contrasting stripe in grey. Pink and grey are a really good colour combination, I think these ‘pop’ more than pink and white:

image1xxl
Adidas Gazelle coral haze: £75

And if colour is not your thing, the unusual, geometric cut-out design on these is really beautiful. A pair of white trainers is always a classic, especially in the summer, and these will look beautiful with denim and a tan.

bb5179_01_standard
Adidas Gazelle cut-out: £79.95
Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

