Three is the magic number

It is a truth universally acknowledged that the minute you try to curb your trainer-buying habit, you will see loads of trainers you really like.

Having arthritis, and the preference to wear trainers with anything, I have a number of pairs now, and only one pair of feet, so I am trying not to buy any more until a pair actually falls apart, especially as summer is on the way, but I’ve seen three pairs that I really want and it’s difficult to resist. Hopefully, writing about them will have some sort of cathartic effect, and I won’t need to buy them (a sort of trainer exorcism if you will). So without further ado:

DL408_0490_0010228136_FR_AEB
Onitsuka Mexico 66: £69.99

I’ve been meaning to buy some Onitsuka Mexico trainers for ages. They are super-cool shoes, developed in 1966 for the Mexico 1968 Olympic games. They’re so retro and I love them. I especially love this yellow pair; yellow shoes are the thing for spring, and these are on my to-buy list after pay-day.

Unless I get this pair:

003167504alt1
Soludos trainers; £110

Soludos makes pretty cool espadrilles (does anyone love flamingos or peacocks? Me too!), but these are the first trainers I’ve seen, and I love them. Who doesn’t love a ‘hey’? It’s the start to many an epic online chat. If you’re in the US, you have an even better range to choose from, you lucky things. Day-of-the-dead French bulldogs? Yes please!

1000157_270_04_24
Soludos espadrilles: $75

And finally, as you may be aware, I do love an embellished ‘Dior’esque trainer. They’re comfortable, fun and I love the contrast between sparkles that are usually seen on an evening high-heel on a sporty trainer. I recently spotted these, and I am rather smitten:

4236251040_2_3_2
Uterque Gem sneaker: £115

They have my name on them so it would be rude not to! They’re just so damn pretty, and having these would be a totally arthritis friendly way to rock a suit; if only my work demanded some smartness, I could justify them, but as it is I will just have to dream…

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

1 thought on “Three is the magic number”

Leave a Reply

