Birkenstop!

So, I received an email today informing me that the British Birkenstock website birkenstock.co.uk was soon to cease trading from the end of May. Oh no!

495x598
What? It’s about shoes

You will still be able to buy Birkenstocks (and other foot-loving shoes) online in the UK from thenaturalshoestore.com but the brand’s own website is being decommissioned, which I hope is not a reflection on how the company is doing nor an unwillingness for European companies to stay in the UK.

In any case, Birkenstock are offering a 20% discount across The Natural Shoe Store (non-sale) range with the code: BIRK-SS17-20

I’m a fan of Birkenstocks, and they’re the only slides I seem to get away with (though I wouldn’t do any long-distance in them). They’re what I tend to wear around the garden, and I always have a pair of the excellent wool slippers:

NSS BIRKENSTOCK CLASSICS 559111 Amsterdam Birko-Felt Light Grey - LIGHT GREY_9274_300x300
Amsterdam slippers: £44.95 (£35.96 with discount)

Although I am kind of tempted by the Mahabis slippers. Does anyone know whether these are any good? They’re a lot of money to take a chance on when the Birkenstocks (although not exactly a cheap slipper let’s be honest) suit me very well…

Anyway, Birkenstock, I am sad to see your online presence diminish somewhat (although your website was particularly convoluted and unfriendly), though I am sure The Natural Shoe Store will provide an adequate fix for my arthritic pins.

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

