Back to black

It’s finally summer, and as such it is time for me to reacquaint myself with all my summer shoes that I store away for winter. Picture a grown woman delving through boxes like a child at Christmas, cooing and sighing at the discoveries; it’s a pathetic spectacle to witness but a lot of fun to do, so I stand by my actions and thoroughly recommend hiding shoes away for 6 months of the year (be sure to do an inventory before you buy anything out of season though!).

One of my most hard-working purchases this year has been this black dress from Me+Em:

black_maxi_dress
Me+Em drape front dress: £119

I love a black summer dress, and this is a great summer staple that does day and evening. It’s little clingy, but flatteringly so, and it looks very elegant (it is long though, and it’s not the sort of dress you could easily alter because it has a wide hem. It fits me at 5’7″, but if you are a lot shorter I am not sure it would work so well). It’s so elegant, in fact, that the best way to wear this dress is with simple black sandals like the ones in the picture: simple clean lines. No faff. No messing.

The sandals in the picture are by my favourite sandal company: Ancient Greek Sandals. I think these are the Clio, but so many on the website would be perfect. They’re beautiful, really well made and very soft on the feet, I rate them very highly:

Clio
Ancient Greek Sandals clio: €125
sofia
Ancient Greek Sandals sofia: €145
apli.jpg
Ancient Greek Sandals apli yianna: €135

They are, however, not that soft on the bank balance, and at the moment I’m spending a lot of money on my house, so I can’t really justify spending ~£100 on a few straps of leather for my feet. So, I have turned to the highstreet for some cheaper inspiration, and at the moment it’s hard not to find anything that’s not covered in studs, pearls or tassels (not that that’s a bad thing, I love me some embellishment, it’s just not what I want right now).

Fortunately, ASOS has come up with the goods. They’re not all leather, but they are all much less expensive, and unlike a few I have seen on the highstreet recently, they don’t look really cheap (Next and M&S, I am talking to you):

monki.jpeg
Monki gladiator sandal: £25
fiasco
Fiasco western buckle sandals: £22
7467897-1-black
Fixation plaited leather sandals: £16

£16 for leather sandals! I mean, I don’t expect these to last longer than one summer but still…

7254258-1-black
Fiona tie-leg sandals: £10
7254192-1-black
Feline jelly sandals: £10
7467898-1-black
Forceful leather sandals: £18
7222389-1-black
Flery leather sandals: £16

I think my favourite of these is the ASOS Forceful, my only concern would be that the quality of leather won’t be so good, so they might rub on the heel. If you suffer with rubbing shoes, the Flery is probably a better bet…

If you’re prepared to spend a little bit extra, for a little more quality (which often translates as comfort), Clarks have a plain black strappy sandal.

They’re nothing to write home about, it’s very basic, but Clarks shoes are comfortable and they do last. I have a pair of gladiator sandals that work with everything, and I bought them years ago:

26124125_W_2
Clarks voyage hop: £40

They have ‘cushionsoft’ padding in the footbed, so are a better bet if you have arthritis and want something a little sturdier, and they’re still not going to break the bank.

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

