Taste the rainbow

We’re big believers in equality at Shoeslifeblog Towers, and I was interested to hear on the news today that the Scottish Episcopalian church was voting on allowing gay marriage in church. As an honorary Scot, I am proud my favourite country is being progressive and challenging dogma.

So, it seemed fitting to write about the Converse Pride range that has just come out. Not only is it super colourful, all net proceeds from the 2017 Pride Collection will go to the It Gets Better project and the Happy Hippie Foundation, which are committed to empowering LGBTQ youth around the world.

I love going to the Pride parade in London (not as much as my daughter who would dress as a rainbow everyday if I would let her), and although I am missing the parade this year to go to a festival, I might get a pair of these to celebrate in absentia.

For a subtle touch of rainbow, the rainbow laces on these white converse are perfect:

157375_standard
Chuck Taylor All Star Pride core: £65

 

However, if you wanted something a little more rainbow but not too over the top:

158405_shot1
Chuck Taylor All Star Pride mesh: £55

I love the rainbow tabs at the end of the laces!

These are my daughter’s choice, however, and the ones to pick if you really love rainbows too. Sadly they don’t come in children’s sizes, which she was very disappointed about:

157374_standard
Chuck Taylor All Star Pride geostar: £60

All the soles in the range have a rainbow colourway. They really are pretty special:

157374_shot5

Unfortunately, the Pride range is only available in the original Chuck Taylor model, which is not as cushioned as the Chuck Taylor II (which is much better for people with arthritis). That said, they’re so happy, it would be difficult not to feel good wearing them. #yestoall

Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

