Life on campus

It seems recently that the way of fashion (or being cool or whatever) is that we have a trainer to get periodically obsessed about and then never wear again (remember when everyone was wearing Adidias stan smiths ALL the time?) Now it seems the turn of the 80s style Adidas campus trainer.

I’m not a huge fan of the campus… maybe it’s because I was a child in the 80s that I associate that decade with everything not cool about it (for all that we criticise kids of today, there was a LOT more plastic crap marketed at kids back then… spokey dokes anyone?) Also, if you want to go down that 80s route, you should go for the Nike Air Max; the chunky full-on trainer design is much more 80s and very comfortable, although perhaps go for a more tasteful colour than the black–red or neon designs of yesteryear. I really like these tortoise panelled ones, they’re a great ‘neutral’ shoe without being boring:

7430446-1-multicolour.jpeg
Nike Air Max: £92

But back to the campus. Like I said, they’re not great for me. I find the sole a little chunky and the heel tab gets on my nerves; however, I realise that this may be beneficial to some people who like the retro-trainer look, but find the soles on Adidas gazelles too thin to be supportive or the shoe too narrow.

My favourite for summer are these white pair with the pink sole:

BY9839_01_standard
Adidas campus: £79.95

They also come in a grey and pink-sole combination, which is also fab: the pink sole makes it a little bit different.

And while we are talking about Adidas, I just wanted to mention for any fellow Wes Anderson fans out there, that Adidas brought out a limited (only 100 pairs!) of Rom Zizzou trainers that were seen in the Life Aquatic.

adidas-rom-zissou-retro-100-pairs-01

Apparently they were available at the We Love Green festival in Paris, and the chances of me ever getting my hands on a pair are precisely zero, but I can dream and in any case, lets just sit back and admire the beauty that is these trainers:

adidas-rom-zissou-retro-100-pairs-03
Rom Zizzou: not for you mere mortals
Author: shoeslifeblog

Being diagnosed with osteoarthritis didn't stop me loving shoes, so I've spent many years seeking shoes that weren't awful for my joints yet weren't awful on the eye. I have learnt that not all shoes are equal, and it is possible to wear amazing shoes while having arthritis (and other leg issues). I try out shoes so you don't have to.

Leave a Reply

